OMED (Organisation Mondiale d'Endoscopie Digestive), the World Organization for Digestive Endoscopy, was constituted as an international society in 1962 during the World Congress of Gastroenterology in Munich. The selected name at the time was "International Society of Endoscopy" (ISE). This was changed to OMED on July 3, 1976. The organization is composed of the National Digestive Endoscopy Societies (or of the Endoscopy Sections of the Gastroenterology Societies) of three geographical zones: European (ESGE), Pan-American (SIED) and Asian-Pacific (APSDE).

OMED is currently composed of 63 medical societies. The General Assembly, made up of representatives from these societies, meets every four years during the World Congress of Gastroenterology and elects the OMED Governing Council and Committees. The OMED President and the Executive Committee (Vice-Presidents, Secretary General and Treasurer) rotate every four years between the three geographical zones. The OMED Secretariat is in Rome: